TIP OF THE DAY: You CAN Have Cheese!
|This tip is for lactose-intolerant people who avoid cheese.
Even if you are lactose intolerant, you can enjoy cheese—it just needs to be aged cheese.
In the cheese-making process, the liquid whey, which contains most of the lactose, is separated from the curd (the solids in the milk—they look like large-curd cottage cheese). Yet there is still enough lactose left in the curd to cause stomach discomfort to lactose-intolerant people.
But as cheeses age, the aging process breaks down the remaining lactose into simple sugars that even lactose-sensitive stomachs can digest. Aged cheeses like Cheddar, Colby, Jack, Parmesan and Swiss contain zero grams of lactose.
Alas, this doesn’t help with a bagel and cream cheese, a runny Brie or melting cheeses like mozzarella atop pizza; but you can enjoy a slice of aged Cheddar on your burger and grated Parmesan on your pasta. You can even make a grilled cheese sandwich.
Lactose intolerant? Dig in! Photo courtesy
|Another tip: Try goat’s milk, sheep’s milk and water buffalo’s milk cheeses. The milk from these animals has smaller fat globules, which makes them more easily digestible. There are some great goat’s milk Bries and buffalo’s milk mozzarella for your pizza.
As always, address questions to your healthcare provider.
Find more information about cheese in our Cheese Section.